Cookie Policy

This site uses cookies. When browsing the site, you are consenting its use. Learn more

I understood


Headquarters address

CIBIO - Centro de Investigação em Biodiversidade e Recursos Genéticos
Universidade do Porto
Campus de Vairão
Rua Padre Armando Quintas, nº 7
4485-661 Vairão
Tel: +351 252 660 400

General Information
Sara Lemos Ferreira |

Executive Coordination
Executive Coordinator (Science) - Rita Araújo |
Coordination Manager - Sara Lemos Ferreira |

Molecular Analysis Services

Knowledge & Technology Transfer

Media Enquiries


Research Groups

Animal Sociality - SOCIALITY
Group Leader: Rita Covas |
Applied Ecology - APPLECOL
Group Leader: Pedro Beja |
Applied Phylogenetics - AP
Group Leader: David James Harris |
Archaeogenetics - ARCHGEN
Group Leader: Catarina Jorge Ginja |

Avian Ecology - AVE
Group Leader: David Gonçalves |

Bat Ecology - BATECO
Group Leader: Hugo Rebelo |
Behavioural Ecology - BE
Group Leader: Paulo Jorge Gama Mota |

Biodiversity and Islands - BIOISLE
Group Leader: Luís Filipe Dias e Silva |
Biodiversity in Agricultural and Forest Ecosystems - AGRODIV
Group Leader: Francisco Moreira |
Biodiversity of Deserts and Arid Regions - BIODESERTS
Group Leader: José Carlos Alcobia Rogado de Brito |

Biogeography and Evolution - BIOEVOL
Group Leader: Angelica Crottini |

Bioinformatics - BIOINFORMATICS
Group Leader: John Archer |
Computational Biology and Metagenomics - CompBio
Group Leader: Nuno Fonseca |

Conservation Genetics and Wildlife Management - CONGEN
Group Leader: Paulo Célio Alves |
Ecogenomics - ECOGEN
Group Leader: Raquel Godinho |

Environmental Archaeology - ENVARCH
Group Leader: João Tereso |

Evolutionary Genetics and Genomics - EVOLGEN
Group Leader: Miguel Jorge Pinto Carneiro |
Functional Biodiversity - FBIO
Group Leader: Miguel A. Carretero |

Genomics of Evolutionary Change - EVOCHANGE
Group Leader: José Melo-Ferreira |

Human Evolutionary Genetics - HUMANEVOL
Group Leader: Jorge Rocha |
Immunity and Emerging Diseases - IMED
Group Leader: Pedro José de Castro Esteves |

Landscape Planning, Design and Management - LPDM
Group Leader: Cláudia Patrícia Oliveira Fernandes |

Livestock Genomics and Conservation - AGRIGENOMICS
Group Leader: Albano Gonçalo Beja Pereira |
Marine Ecology, Diversity and Change - MarChange
Group Leader: Fernando Pádua Silva e Lima |
Microbial Diversity and Evolution - MDE
Group Leader: Fernando Manuel dos Santos Tavares |
Microbiology and Infectious Diseases - M&ID
Group Leader: Gertrude Averil Baker Thompson |
Phenotypic Evolution - PHENEVOL
Group Leader: Antigoni Kaliontzopoulou |
Plant Biology - PLANTBIO
Group Leader: Herlander Azevedo |

Plant Nitrogen - PLANTN
Group Leader: Helena Carvalho |

Predicting and Managing Ecological Change - ECOCHANGE
Group Leader: João José Pradinho Honrado |
Theoretical Ecology and Biodiversity Modelling - THEOECO
Group Leader: Henrique Miguel Pereira |
Tropical Biology - TROPBIO
Group Leader: Fernando Jorge Guimarães Sequeira |

You can check our staff’s individual contacts in the People section
Share this: